Our Story

Amarillo Association of REALTORS®, Inc.

Mission Statement

Amarillo Association of REALTORS® empowers its members
to achieve professional success.

Organized in June 1920, the Amarillo Association of REALTORS® (AAR) has over 1000 REALTORS® and over 90 Affiliate members. Working with the Texas Association of REALTORS® and the National Association of REALTORS®, AAR makes sure homeowners and other private-property holders are treated fairly by lawmakers and regulatory groups. After all, no one knows the business of real estate better. REALTORS® can see where improvements should be made and can identify proposals that would adversely affect real estate. REALTORS® then work on these issues, and property owners reap the rewards.

For example, REALTORS® have fought for legislation that prevents Texans from losing their homes to foreclosure because of late payments to mandatory-membership homeowner associations. REALTORS® made sure that homeowner protections were included in home equity legislation. REALTORS® supported bills on homeowners insurance reform that establish state oversight of rates and bring relief from unfair practices by insurers. And, Texas REALTORS® have repeatedly led the charge to thwart proposals that would have added thousands of dollars of fees and taxes to every real estate transaction.

So rest assured that REALTORS® looking out for your interests as a property owner.


What do those designations mean? Hiring a REALTOR® means you’ve retained someone who is committed to continuing education, professionalism, and integrity. In addition to upholding the strict REALTOR® Code of Ethics, many REALTORS® hold one or more professional designations—those letters behind our names indicating advanced or specialized training in real estate. Here are just a few of the various designations a REALTOR® may hold and what they could mean for you:

  • Graduate REALTOR® Institute (GRI)  – The GRI designation is a mark of distinction that earns REALTORS® respect and confidence from their peers and the general public, demonstrating their commitment to advancing their knowledge in many aspects of the real estate profession.
  • Certified Residential Specialist (CRS)  – Residential salespeople who hold the CRS designation specialize in listing properties, selling, and investing, as well as mortgage financing and computer applications.
  • Texas Affordable Housing Specialist (TAHS)  – Some Texas REALTORS® have gone the extra mile by taking a new 12-hour certification program that gives them special knowledge about statewide affordable housing resources and products. A Texas Affordable Housing Specialist is dedicated to increasing the rate of homeownership and retention in the Lone Star State.
  • e-PRO (certification)  – The e-PRO certification is the real estate industry’s first comprehensive technology certification endorsed by the National Association of REALTORS®.
  • Accredited Buyer Representative (ABR) – A buyer’s agent represents the buyer in a real estate transaction, just as a seller’s agent is hired to obtain the price and sale terms sought by the seller. The ABR is the only nationally recognized designation for buyer’s agents.
  • Certified Real Estate Brokerage Manager (CRB)  – The CRB designation is recognized in the real estate profession as the symbol of management excellence and is awarded to brokerage owners and managers.
  • Certified International Property Specialist (CIPS)  – The CIPS network is comprised of 1,500 real estate professionals from 50 countries who deal in all types of real estate, but with one common element: They are focused specifically on the international market. Whether traveling abroad to put deals together, assisting foreign investors, helping local buyers invest abroad, or serving an immigrant niche in local markets, CIPS designees are consumers’ best resource to ensure they are dealing with a professional skilled in the unique aspects of international real estate.